This Cup

Unsplash1I’m pretty picky about music.  I’m always looking for new artists to listen to, and when I find one I like I usually go crazy over their music for a few days.  Recently (thanks to Victoria) I discovered the music of Sara Groves, and I’ve been listening to it almost every night for a while.  I love the depth of the lyrics, the beauty of the music, and how well some of her songs seem to speak right to where I am.

One of the songs I really love on her most recent album, Floodplain, is This Cup.  So often I find myself dreaming of who I want to be, where I want to go, fantastic, unrealistic wishes for a life that’s just not mine.  Sometimes I’m just lost in memories of times spent at places like Bible Bee Nationals, and the wonderful fellowship I’ve experienced there.

“Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:14-16).  It seems hard to give thanks sometimes; often it doesn’t feel like I’m getting anywhere, like I’m just treading the same ground over and over every day, messing up and confessing and getting back up again.  But, “…His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence.” (1 Peter 1:3).  By His grace it’s possible not just to tolerate, but to rejoice; not just to keep plodding along, but to praise and glorify Him, to delight in the truth of who He is, as I learn more about Him every day in His word.

By His grace, I will rejoice.  I’ll praise Him for His beauty, His glory, and His love; for thunderstorms and dark chocolate and violin and deep, rich music; for His word and the in for games of foursquare with my brothers, for watering the chickens while the morning sun is “burning through a silver mist,” for afternoons of drinking tea and reading about modern art; and I’ll praise Him for the days when I have more that needs to be done than hours in the day, because those are the days when all I can do is trust Him, when I know that it’s through my weakness that His power is perfected.  Rejoice.

This cup, this cup
I want to drink it up
To be right here in the middle of it
Right here, right here
This challenging reality
Is better than fear or fantasy

~ Sara Groves

One thought on “This Cup

Leave a Reply

