River Running

//This was the first of my three major poems last year, and it’s still one of my favorites.  I was actually trying to write song lyrics, but then I found out I have no idea how to do that; anyway, that’s the reason for the weird formatting.//

Over hills, over trees, there’s another dawn breaking
The stars’ silver courses trace night into day
And I tread dusty paths through the woods toward the sunset
The river is running, it’s running away

The sun’s glinting down on the silvery dew
The white fire of gladness is greeting the dawn
And my heart’s springing forward to meet this new joy
The river is flowing, it flows ever on

Oh the river is flowing
Ever always away
And the mornings go with it
Like mists on the breeze
And a bit of my heart flows away

Glaring light glimmers mockingly off of the water
The glare of the bright burning darkness of day
But the scorching, it fades to the cold gray of evening
The river is running, it’s running away

The darkness descends with a peace and a stillness
Of tears all shed into the river’s slow song
And the sun’s faded into the longing of starlight
The river is flowing, it flows ever on

Oh the river is flowing
Ever always away
And the starlight flows with it
Like mists on the breeze
And a bit of my heart flows away

Yes, the morning and and night they will flow
Like the mist on the wind they will blow
But when they have finally passed
Then we’ll see beyond the river at last
The morning eternal, a city of gold,
And the fears of the night will be past

Oh the river is flowing
Till it flows all away
And my fears will flow with it
LIke mists on the breeze
And my heart will be whole in the day

Oh the river will flow
Yes, the river will flow
But there’s ever a well in my soul

6 thoughts on “River Running

Leave a Reply

