In Which I Have Two WIPs and Pictures

Hi! *waves sheepishly* So sorry for disappearing.  But I do have an excuse.  We got back from vacation last Monday, and then on Tuesday we found out Bible Bee scores!  (I ranked 35 out of 120 qualifiers.  Thank you so much for praying!)  So anyway, I have been busily memorizing (Pentateuch passages are really hard, just saying), and trying to get a handle on 1 John.  And my dual enrollment class started as well.  But now I’m back, and hopefully I won’t be leaving again for a while!

Anyway, on the way up to Kentucky we stopped in Chattanooga.  I love Tennessee.  It’s such a beautiful state.  We drove eight hours or so on Sunday to get there, and after stopping in our hotel room for some quick pita chips and hummus, we headed up to a place called Lookout Mountain.  Apparently I’d been there before, although I don’t remember it.

The view was breathtaking.  I really couldn’t capture it in a photograph, even though I was using the nice camera on my dad’s phone (thanks Dad).

Apparently it’s a bit of a historical site; meaning Civil War history.  Which might explain all the cannons.

We ran into quite a bit of rain on the way to Tennessee, and just as we were getting ready to leave the mountain it started to make itself apparent.  But if you looked out from one of the observation points you could see this curtain of rain encroaching cloaking the mountains off in the distance.

Of course, my dad is the picture-taker of the family; but it’s kind of fun to photograph the photographer.

Well, I have two WIPs now.  I’m already writing a novel, Song Beyond Silence, but while I was on the trip I realized a) I really need to do some more outlining (like a lot) on SBS; b) a nonfiction book seems like a really great idea; c) I am very, very passionate about this subject and I just really need to write a book about it.

Therefore, I am now in the process of writing a nonfiction book on Bible study.  Here’s the thing: over a few years of Bible Bee (and conversations with my dad) I’ve realized that the Bible isn’t just a way to get saved or a book of helpful instructions.  It’s the living and active word of God, it’s the foundation upon which everything else has to be built.  And I think we as a church, and teenagers in particular, have lost this.  I don’t think we’re the only generation to have this problem (look at the history of the church), but it’s something that saddens me, and something I’d like to change.  So, obviously the thing to do is write a book about it.  (By the way, if you have any ideas for a title, send them my way!  I’m kind of blank right now.)  And I may or may not actually time to write one book (much less two) in the near future.  But I believe God has given me this idea, so by His grace I’ll pursue it as best I can!

Well, thank you for listening to my ramblings 🙂  How was your summer?  Are you back in school yet?  Or do you all have crazy schedules like I do?

12 thoughts on “In Which I Have Two WIPs and Pictures

  1. The view is lovely. And congrats on Bible Bee–I know you worked hard and I’m so excited for you! Your two WIPs sound amazing–I can’t wait to see what God will do through your books, especially the non-fic. I know that’s a big issue that we often tend to push aside for “more important” issues. I don’t have a title idea but I have an idea for the sub-title blurb: Building on a solid foundation to rock the world. It’s not so great, but it’s all I could think of. 🙂 Praying for you, Katherine! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Sarah! Ooh, that’s a great blurb! I really like it. Or maybe for a title, “Upon a Rock”? I’m thinking I’ll get three or four possibilities, and do a poll of some sort 😉 Thank you so much for praying!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those are beautiful pictures, and congratulations on qualifying for nationals! I had several other friends qualify too, so you might see them there. 😉

    That is a great book idea, and I’ll be praying for you as you launch into this next project. I love Sarah’s blurb idea; I think a title could really grow from there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So I’m really excited about your non-fiction book, even though you haven’t even written it yet. xP It just excites me when God gives people a passion for something, and they listen to His calling and decide to pursue it. I know He’s given you the passion for this topic and a talent in writing for a reason, and I can’t wait to see what God does through you. ❤ I agree, too, about this being an important topic in the church, especially in our generation. There are lots of great teen books out there on lots of great topics, but without a solid foundation in the Bible—without even believing that you need such a thing—you can't be modest, change the world, trust God, pray well, or whatever the topic is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

