Study and Sunshine and Storms // September Monthly Wrap-up

Announcement #1 ~ It is officially fall.  Ish.  And only officially.  Florida weather has been rather the same as usual – a lot of 90-degree days, a few storms, and a little bit of mini-drama when our dear friend Hurricane Hermine came through a few weeks back.
Announcement #2 ~ I have officially been blogging for six months now!  I feel like I sort of jumped in the deep end and figured things out from there, but it’s been all kinds of fun.  And thank you so much for all your likes and comments!  I really enjoy getting to know you all.

//Life in General//

Bible Bee and school.  Bible Bee has been simply wonderful, although a little stressful.  It feels like I’m just plodding along and trying to get everything done sometimes, but then there are those days where God just opens up your eyes to something you’d never noticed in a passage, or shows you some truth you’d never really thought about as you study a particular verse; and that’s when you really remember why you’re doing it.

wp-1475241835061.jpg

 

Apart from that, I’ve been volunteering at Good News Clubs and attempting to do a modicum of writing and reading (see below).

Also, a friend and I are putting together a project to allow families and individuals outside Bible Bee to pray for specific Bible Bee contestants.  I’m really excited about what God will do with it!  If you want more information, go here.

//Blogging Here and Otherwheres//

Let’s see… I finally did a tag from Victoria, which was supposed to be done in the middle of the year, but eh, that’s all right.

Several poems (see above) ~ Of Stones and Stars and Stories, Incarnationand 60 Seconds.

A couple of book reviews ~ A Gospel Primer by Milton Vincent, and The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway (that one was for school; hopefully more reviews coming on my other read-for-school books in the near future!).

And, most recently, a post on some things I learned from 1 John 3, specifically about us as God’s children.

And in other corners of the great and vast internet… Belle wrote a beautiful article about candles and shooting stars and faithfulness, and N.D. Wilson had an interview I really enjoyed on the Gospel Coalition website, on why he doesn’t write “Christian” novels (I need to read more of his books now!).

//Writing//

I’ve more or less given up on the idea of getting much writing done over the Bible Bee season (if you’ve never done Bible Bee, just imagine having two or three extra courses added to your workload).  But I am trying to do a poem a week through December, so look out for some of those!

wp-1475241812992.jpg
The master list on which I keep track of everything related to memory verses.

//Reading//

And… once again, I only finished two books – The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway, and When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (which was really good and kind of mind-stretching).

I’m just in the middle of so many that it’s hard to finish one.  I don’t even know how I ended up reading so many books at a time.  Especially during BB season?

wp-1475253939961.jpg

And trust me, there are more.  But the one I’m most excited about at the moment is John MacArthur’s New Testament Commentary on 1-3 John.  My dad bought it for me (yay!), and I can’t wait to start reading it!

wp-1475242234070.jpg

//Listening//

Pretty much all the things – classical, instrumental, Christian…  I really haven’t been focusing on one genre at all.

I love this song, just because of what it has to say about trusting God.  Gray’s style is a little more contemporary than I’m used to, but his lyrics are usually pretty good.

And I simply love this album.

//Thinking//

Everything?  Seriously, my mind seems to be going every direction (often a direction other than I want).  But I’ve been so reminded of the need – the gaping, burning need – we have to pray.  We need it for ourselves (“Abide in Me, and I in you…”); and others need it as well.  Through various situations and ongoing needs, I’ve been reminded more and more often to come before Him in prayer for them.  Not just to say a quick little prayer and have done with it (“Lord, help them please”), but interceding, crying out, begging God to intervene, to work in others’ hearts – and my own.  It’s an exercise in trust too – I know that, “if we ask according to His will, He hears us.”  And He answers according to His perfect will.  But when and how, I don’t know.

wp-1475241864019.jpg

9 thoughts on “Study and Sunshine and Storms // September Monthly Wrap-up

  1. Our family loves N.D. Wilson’s books! It all started when we listened to 100 Cupboards one vacatioin… and now we’re trying not to be annoyed that Ashtown Burials isn’t completed yet 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love When You Reach Me. So good but yes, definitely mind-boggling. And your thoughts on prayer – yes yes yes. ❤

    Remind me, what area of Florida are you in? I didn't realize (or maybe I forgot) that you lived in Florida too. 0=D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think that’s one of those books that sort of turns your brain on its head. xP I kept trying to guess what was going to happen, but I really didn’t see the ending coming. It tied together so well though.

      Oh, that’s right, you’re in Florida too! I think I saw something about that in one of your posts, but I forgot. We’re in the Tampa area. Where are you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! I read the time passages several times before I “got it”, and I still can’t skim it when I reread it. It’s so good though. 🙂

        Yay, it’s so neat to have someone else in Florida! I have several friends in the Tampa area. x) I’m in the Orlando area – not right in Orlando, but close to it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

