Of muchly studying and few books // October Monthly Wrap-Up

I feel like the puffin is appropriate somehow. I don’t know. Via.

I seriously can’t believe we’re almost done with October. It’s been so wonderfully, beautifully cool down here lately; some days I actually left the window open all day long! I’ve eaten breakfast outside several times too while doing my devotions (because when you get up late you have to multitask a little).

(And in case you’re wondering what “cool” is for us Floridians, 60 degree mornings make me shiver just a bit when I water the chickens. Please don’t laugh at me, all you northerners.)

Oh, and by the way, did you know this Halloween is the 500th anniversary of the Reformation? (I know that was totally random, but it’s important. Here’s an article about it.)

//Life in general//

Bible Bee. AND IT’S IN STINKING SIXTEEN DAYS. You should be able to live-stream the semifinal and final rounds here on the 17th and 18th (I *may* try and post quickly if I make semis).

So basically I’ve been studying pretty incessantly for that. And I’ve been doing school, which has entailed a good bit of reading lately (more on that in a moment).

And very randomly, I’ve been making a lot of omelette – type things for myself lately, with onions and tomatoes and cheese. They’re really good. *nods*

//Blogging here and elsewhere//

Let’s see… *goes off to check archives*

Also, I published an article on The Rebelution about memorization techniques. It’s been such a blessing to be published there, and I’m looking forward to doing more in the future!

//Writing//

Um, let’s just skip this section, shall we? I think writing for the blog counts.

And there have been a few random things for Bible Bee. That’s about it.

//Reading//

wp-1475592720746.jpg11988wp-1477020828425.jpg347656

Don’t Waste Your Life is really good. Typical Piper – “God is most glorified in us, when we are most satisfied in Him.” He sets out his vision of God’s purpose for our lives in high, glorious terms. It’s uncomfortable and convicting sometimes, but something that needs to be read. 

I’ve also had to read a bunch for school. Heavy, philosophical type stuff. It’s quite interesting, however, I have not actually finished any of the books (from the first two I read selections, and the third is just long).

//Listening//

I recently discovered this song. I’m not entirely sure what it’s about (it’s the only one of their songs I listen to) but the harmonies are beautiful.

And I’ve been listening to Adam Young’s soundtracks a lot too. They’re great for studying.

//Thinking//

//I think I think about myself too much. My mind is fixed on myself, on the things of this earth. I’m looking down, when I should be looking up.

//I have so many things that need to get done, and not enough time to do them. I don’t know where I’m supposed to go to college (although I know where I want to go). I don’t know how to balance my studying with my family and everything else. But there’s a promise – whatever we ask according to His will, He will give us (1 John 5:14-15). And so I will ask for wisdom, and trust that He will give it (James 1:5-6).

//One lexicon I looked at described the Antichrist as “a most pestilent being.” Somehow that struck me as a good insult.

And this is something I posted on Google+ the other night.

 

I’ll probably be going on hiatus soon (I’ll let you know when I do). But I have a couple of other things coming this week, so watch out for those. Until then, may you read more books than I have, and grow in the grace of our Lord Jesus!

What’s up with you all? Has October gone by insanely fast? What did you read this month?

8 thoughts on “Of muchly studying and few books // October Monthly Wrap-Up

  1. AAAH, I love Adam Young’s soundtracks! I found them in August and have eagerly awaited the first of each month for a new one. 🙂 My favorites are Apollo 11, The Spirit of St. Louis, RMS Titanic, and The Corduroy Road.

    So exciting that you had a post published on the Rebelution! I’ve read many great posts there over the years, though I’m not a very regular visitor.

    Also, the G+ post is great. It made me think this morning. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I knew about them before (I have a friend who’s crazy about all his music), but I just realized how wonderful they are. I think Titanic is my favorite, but I need to check out Apollo 11.
      Thanks! I just discovered The Rebelution somewhat recently, and I’ve enjoyed hanging around there. I’m glad you enjoyed the G+ post too! I wrote it up at like 11:00 one night (somehow that’s when some of my best writing happens!)

      Like

  2. I just came from Adam’s “The Ascend of Everest.” He’s really in his element, if we can call it that, when he does what he loves and doesn’t concern himself with record deals and what the general public likes.

    Your insight to Godly living is so, so refreshing, Katherine; I was wondering if you could make a post on time/priority management (or link to something you’ve already written on the topic).

    Anyway thank you for another awesome post! You will rock the Bible Bee!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, he really seems to love doing the soundtracks (although I’ve enjoyed the Owl City and Sky Sailing albums a lot as well).

      No, I haven’t done a post on that, but that’s actually a great idea! I’ll have to do one sometime.

      Thanks so much, Lindy! Your comments are always a huge encouragement to me. ❤ I'll have to post on here and let you all know if I make semis! =D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

