A Musical Celebration | Songs Christmas-y and Otherwise

If you’ve hung around here a while, you probably realize that I love music (one of the highlights of the Kindle Fire I got last Christmas was that I can now listen to Spotify whenever I so desire, not just on the laptop). I’m pretty sure I get it from my family, actually. We have quite varied and eclectic tastes (depending whom you talk to, you’ll get recommendations for Twenty One Pilots, Bob Dylan, Mozart, and any one of several obscure Christian artists).

With all that in mind, I decided I must be long overdue for a musical post. And it’s Christmas – when we all get to rediscover favorite seasonal music, and find new artists and albums. So here are some of my favorite artists and songs, Christmas-y and otherwise, in no particular order.

//Humbug, by Owl City//

I discovered this song the other night. It was probably about 10:30, and I was just sitting there on my bed jamming out and laughing ridiculously hard. Seriously, it’s hilarious but really cute.

//Take This Slowly, by The Gray Havens//

No, it’s not a Christmas song, but this is the song I kept singing to myself pretty much all day during and after prelims at Bible Bee Nationals this year. It’s all about grace, and trusting even though you don’t see what’s coming next.

//O Holy Night, by Josh Garrels//

Okay, so I just love this entire album. It’s so pretty, and it has a bunch of old Christmas carols too.

//The Sower’s Song, by Andrew Peterson//

This is another non-Christmas one, but it’s probably about my favorite song right now, so I had to include it. I absolutely love the way he puts the passage from Isaiah into poetry. I think sometimes we forget just how powerful the word of God is.

//Hallelujah, by Mannheim Steamroller//

I’m not entirely sure why, but every year when I hear this song it reminds me of Christmas like nothing else. Maybe just because we always listen to this album around Christmas time, and it’s the first song? Who knows.

And, last but certainly not least…

//White Christmas, by the Crash Test Dummies//

This one is just… really relevant. I mean, I live in Florida, so we’re a lot more likely to be building sandcastles than snowmen. -.- (I swear I am going to die if I end up going to college in Virginia)

So what are your favorite Christmas songs? Does it get cold where you live? Tell me in the comments!

14 thoughts on “A Musical Celebration | Songs Christmas-y and Otherwise

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m officially dying over that Owl City song! 😀 Thanks for a great laugh this morning! Those other songs are lovely, and Mannheim steamroller always reminds me of Christmas too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed this, Katherine! I listened to the music while I was on the exercise bike this morning, and the Humbug song was funny even before 8 a.m.! 🙂 The White Christmas version was a little creepy (because of the vocalist), but funny, too; I PROMISE you won’t die if you end up in VA in December–you would be home for Christmas, anyway! 🙂 Even if you had to endure the snow, you would be really cute in a matching winter hat, scarf, and mittens set! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it! Yeah, if you want to hear creepy, listen to Jingle Bells from that same album =P Oh good, I’m so glad to hear it’s not too cold! I guess it’s worse where you guys are? Aw, thanks. =) That actually is something I’m looking forward to – getting to wear some winter styles for once! =D

      Like

  3. *casually saves all of these* I’m not the hugest fan of Christmas music but I trust your taste and OWL CITY, so I’ll be sure to listen to these when I get off work!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really liked “The Sower’s Song”, thanks!
    It is freezing here in Wyoming! (Actually 0 degrees this morning, and we got snow last night, and saw a snow ‘rainbow’ this morning!)
    One of my favorites, “Welcome to Our World”–https://play.spotify.com/track/3ZnfQN6kCi7QqqMqk3LzPH
    And his album’s opening song, “Christmas Angels” so captures the joy of Christmas for me! https://play.spotify.com/track/4eFDmyRfIRHec7QrapBEx6
    Don’t know if you like Peter Hollens, but his Christmas album just came out and it’s beautiful! https://play.spotify.com/album/1wYsMV0rRpFmSzAc9hJ77X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

