Look at the Moon (His Word Endures Forever)

It was several weeks ago that I got assigned my first “speaking” role in Good News Club. I stood in front of about 60 elementary kids, heart pounding, to teach the memory verse for the week. “Let’s read it together,” I said. “The sum of your word is truth…” they began to catch on and read with me, each at their own wildly differing pace, “and every one of your righteous rules endures forever.”

Two years ago, life was much simpler. Not always easy, maybe; but simple. I knew where I was, and where I was supposed to be. The biggest decisions I had to make were more along the lines of whether I should take time to wheedle money out of my mom (she made me work for it, but I could get the price up to my liking).

Well, that changed quite a bit. There’s college to apply to (oh, wait, that’s done already? I’m enrolled in a college?); there’s timing to think about (gap year? Semester? Distance learning classes?); oh yeah, and the scholarships (unbelievable, how much money this thing costs). And then there’s applying for a job, and figuring out how to balance my schedule in the spring (with a dual enrollment class twice a week, 40 minutes away). And what about writing, and blogging, and school (obviously)? It’s like one of those 1,000 piece puzzles, and you’re trying to put all the pieces together in time for scholarship deadlines and graduation.

I sit in the silent car on the way home from church, staring out the window. The moon draws my eye. (It occurs to me that it would be far more poetic to be staring at the stars, but there are too many lights and they’re hard to see. And the moon is pretty anyway) It hangs there, silent and absurdly bright in the night sky. So far above and beyond all of this. It’s been there long before I was thought of, and it will probably remain long after I’m forgotten. And the One who set it there knows the thoughts of my heart; and the One who commands it to rise and fall directs my steps; and the One who guides its path is the one who gives me grace.

Every one of His righteous ordinances is everlasting.

img_8791

Eternity – we can’t wrap our finite minds around the concept, no matter how hard we try; and yet our God has been since long before His word formed the heavens and the earth. Before the moon ruled the night, the truth of who He is existed. And in unfathomable grace, He gave us that truth in words –  words that live, and work, and pierce minds and hearts.

The truth of His holiness (and of our sinfulness).

The truth of His commands (which we broke; but now, by His Spirit, we can keep).

The truth of His will, and His working throughout the history of this people who rebelled against Him (and yet, whom He redeemed).

The truth of His love (a love that gave up everything to save us).

The truth of His perfect wisdom (which in its seeming foolishness is wiser than every philosopher of ancient Greece and of our own age devoid of meaning).

I can hold in my hand the very words of the One who set every cell of my body in its place and designed the little particles that make up my DNA. It’s as true now as it was in the days Christ walked the earth, and it will be true forever – even when the moon turns to dust and the stars explode and fire unmakes all that we know to form a new creation.

So this is what we cling to. This is what will give us hope and wisdom as we try to put those puzzle pieces together and figure out that next step. And this is what I want to teach those kids at Good News Club on Tuesday afternoons. … O God, do not forsake me, until I declare Your strength to this generation, Your power to all who are to come.

img_8800

//Scripture quoted or referenced: Psalm 119:160; 139:1-4; Genesis 1:1; Hebrews 4:12; Genesis 3:6; 1 John 4:8; 1 Corinthians 1:18-31; 2 Peter 3:7; Revelation 21:1; Psalm 71:18

What about you? Are you at one of those crazy, confusing points in your life? How has God’s word encouraged you?

9 thoughts on “Look at the Moon (His Word Endures Forever)

  1. Oh boy, do I know about those 1,000 puzzle pieces. And how each one of them is much more complicated than it seems like it should be.

    Where are you thinking of applying for a job, if I may ask? 🙂

    I see that I’m not the only one who’s realized the amazing thing that God chose to give us truth in words. In creation, too; and in the hearts of His people…but the bulk of the message is in words. And as someone who loves to use words myself, that’s incredible to me.

    I’m so glad that He is constant, despite everything else!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I know! I was thinking of that the other day, how awesome it is that he chose to use words to give us truth (and then chose to give us the ability to share truth in words as well!)
      Right now I’ve applied to Starbucks, Chik-Fil-A, and Subway; I want to apply at some other, less well-known places though. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

