2017 // Salutation

Happy New Year, friends!

New Year’s Eve was one of the craziest (and coldest!) days of the year for me. Today, January 1st, I’m sitting in our office listening to a playlist of random songs and updating my blog. As I have been for the past two hours. It’s rather nice – a calm, quiet start to the year (after suddenly discovering this morning that I was supposed to play violin for our church’s 11:00 service -_-).

So here’s a short post of looking ahead at this year!

(featured image by my dad)

//Blogging//

As you may have noticed, Song Beyond Silence has gotten a makeover! (which, by the way, is what I’ve spent these two hours doing). I’ve been wanting to use the Baskerville theme since like two months ago, and this seemed like the perfect time to change. I also changed the tagline. The original (“Tales of God’s Goodness and Grace) was more a spur-of-the-moment decision, and while it was a perfectly good tagline, I think “Seeking to Speak of the Stars” better communicates this blog’s content and style.

I’d love to do some guest posts this year as well. If you’re interested, let me know!

I’m also changing my posting schedule. I was doing Tuesdays and Fridays, but Lord willing I’ll be doing Mondays and Thursdays instead from here on. Don’t ask me why, I just think it’ll work better?

Hopefully this year I’ll get better at scheduling posts in advance.

Ha.

//Reading//

I’m doing the Goodreads challenge for the first time this year, and I’m going for 50 books. So… yay. The plan is to read some that are a little more outside my comfort zone (like some of the philosophers I’ve been studying lately), and also some classics like Beowulf and The Silmarillion.

//Writing//

Lord willing, I’d like to finish the first draft of God, Jesus, Bible within the next few months. After that… I guess I’ll step into the crazy world of writing book proposals? Among the many other things I’ve learned about nonfiction is that you don’t wait to finish the book before you submit it to a publisher.

The Fringe of Eternity project is still very much on the radar as well. More information on that should be coming in later posts.

I also have one or two ideas for maybe a shorter fiction work. We’ll see about that, I guess…

//Goals//

No, I don’t have any new year’s resolutions, per se; but I do have some goals.

  • Read through the whole Bible (planning to do this with a couple friends)
  • Memorize 2,000 new Bible verses (don’t laugh. or think I’m a superhuman. Lord willing, about half will come from Bible Bee Nationals)
  • Keep a bullet journal (because yay for organization and planning)
  • Read 50 books (see above)
  • Email friends consistently (you should see my “need answers” folder on Gmail -.-)
  • Grow in knowledge of and love for God and His word

//I love this hymn, and it seems very appropriate for beginning a new year.//

Do you have any goals for 2017? Are there any books you really want to read this year?

13 thoughts on “2017 // Salutation

  1. Thanks for sharing! When I see other people making goals it encourages me to think that mine aren’t too crazy. 🙂 I’m hoping to read more nonfiction this year, especially missionary biographies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s true, it does help to see other people making goals (and sticking to them!). I’m so glad this post encouraged you! I need to read more nonfiction as well… I already have a ton of books on my bookshelves on Goodreads, and more to be added presently, so I guess we’ll see what happens =P

      Like

  2. I like the new design!

    I’ve done the Goodreads challenge for several years now, though unfortunately the goal number keeps dropping as life happens. This year I’m aiming for 30 books, because I’m going to probably be reading mostly nonfiction (which is really new for me). I’ve made a list of about 25 books, inspired by categories from this challenge: http://www.challies.com/resources/the-2017-christian-reading-challenge So yeah, it’s going to be different, but I’m looking forward to it! Here’s my list on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/16808888?shelf=2017-reading-challenge

    As for goals…I’m with you, I don’t really do “resolutions.” A friend of mine suggested “fearless, hopeless optimisms” instead which makes me laugh. Some of them are more like goals, some of them are dreams. It’s a good combination. 🙂

    I’m reading through the Bible in a year, too! With my family. 🙂 We’re using the Bible Project (https://thebibleproject.com/), which is cool because they have videos with helpful notes. I’m enjoying it so far!

    I started a bullet journal back in September, but it’s been really inconsistent. Mine isn’t really pretty, but it does seem to help to have everything in one book rather than pieces of paper everywhere.

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that’s still a great goal! I’m sure a lot of mine will be fiction, otherwise there’s no way I’d get through fifty in a year. =P I’ve seen that challenge before, too! I may have to check it out, although I have a lot of books on my TBR already, so we’ll see. It says your GR shelf is private… have you added me as a friend yet?

      Yeah, resolutions are hard; for me it always helps to have concrete goals. Dreams are good too, but generally I don’t tell mine to very many people (or any, as the case may be xP)

      Oh, cool! What kind of reading plan is it? You’ll have to tell me more about it next time I see you.

      My bullet journal isn’t very pretty either. I’ve done a few little designs, and some color-coding but that’s more functional. It’s definitely been helpful so far though!

      Like

  3. I love the new blog design! I need to give Sweeter than Honey a makeover, but I keep on planning to do it after I’m finished with something else, and so it never happens. 🙂

    Those sound like good goals! I’ve always done resolutions in the past, but I couldn’t think of anything I wasn’t already planning to do this year, so I didn’t really make any.

    Happy New Year’s! I can’t believe that it’s already 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I have that problem too (not so much with blogging, but other stuff…). This was something I’d been planning for a while though, and I was really impatient to do it! =P

      Happy new year to you too! I totally understand about the resolutions, I don’t like to just make them arbitrarily.

      Like

Leave a Reply

