Songs and Celebrations // A Bloggy Birthday

OH LOOK TODAY IS MY LIL BLOG’S FIRST BIRTHDAY.

Not like I’m excited or anything.

Exactly one year ago I published my first post on this blog… and now my tiny little sprout has grown up into a nice big plant and it has a Facebook page and everything.

And because I didn’t think ahead and do something fun for this, we’re just going to celebrate with candles and chocolate chip muffins and then have a fun Q&A at the end! Sound good?

Why did I decide to start a blog?

Honestly, it was kind of a random decision. I thought, “you know, I have lots of thoughts and opinions and ideas and I’d like to put them on the internet.” So I made a blog.

So I had a few random posts, and then I discovered NaPoWriMo, and that was so much fun (even though I did it in May… hahaha…)

And then Bible Bee happened, and I kinda found a niche in writing about what I was learning in my study (along with more poetry and stuff)

IMG_9692

When I started, I didn’t have a clearly defined vision of where I wanted to go with this blog… and although I do now, it’s still highly eclectic.

Basically, I believe that theology and art should go together. Like it shouldn’t be abnormal for someone (read: me) to write both fiction and nonfiction, or post lots of poetry and stories, along with lots of articles about Christian living and the Bible.

So I’ve decided to embrace the eclectivity (is that a word?) and just go with it. And it’s been awesome.

The Things I’ve Learned

(That sounds super dramatic)

Honestly, when I started blogging, I didn’t think it was going to be a huge deal. My thought process was, “Yeah, I’ll just post the random stuff I write, and people will hopefully like it.”

But wow, I’ve come a ways since then.

First of all, I wanted to write a book (first it was fiction, then it was nonfiction), and there’s the harsh reality that if you want to get published, you have to build a platform. So I had to take blogging (and social media) more seriously after that.

But secondly (and more importantly), I had to learn how to post consistently. And that’s grown my writing SO much.

Posting Activity
Look at that. That is the record of me becoming consistent.

And I feel like over this past year, through blogging and other stuff, I’ve not only grown as a writer but as a person. I’ve learned a lot about what it’s going to mean to try and be an author, and it feels like my dreams have exploded into a startling color and clarity.

It’s not all wonderful. Honestly, trying to build a platform and get published has its own set of pitfalls, mainly pride, which is glaringly obvious and kind of hard to avoid. But that doesn’t mean you don’t keep doing it. I was talking about this with a friend the other night, about that tension of knowing God has given you a message to share, but also knowing that you might use that to pursue your own glory instead of His. You just have to stay in His word and keep praying for His grace.

With that said, here are some of the best posts and most important things that happened this past year.

I did NaPoWriMo, and never mind that it was in May, it was such a great experience (although please disregard the awkwardness of my first few posts >.<)

Bible Bee happened, and I did a blog series inspired by it.

I started a book!

We went to Bible Bee Nationals (and it was awesome).

And one of the most important things, I got very involved with The Rebelution. This is such a great website, and I’m honored to be able to publish and edit for it.

Also, more recently, Song Beyond Silence got a Facebook page! (my little blog is so grown up, it has Facebook now)

 

Song Beyond Silence is on Facebook!

Looking Ahead

Well, NaPoWriMo is happening again, and I’m super excited. It led to all sorts of good poetry last year, so hopefully that will be the case again? I definitely plan to share some on here!

The Fringe of Eternity Project is in progress. The main thing is just that I have no idea how to format this for Kindle, so that should be fun. xD (also I really need to write an intro).

I’ll be pretty busy this entire summer and fall, with online classes and Bible Bee and writing a book, but I should still be blogging. We’ll see just exactly where it goes, but I don’t plan on going away anytime soon!

Now let’s do a fun thing. Ask any question you want in the comments – it can be about me, my writing, life in general, existential inquiries… anything, as long as it’s not super weird. And then tell me what was the most important thing that happened to you this past year!

17 thoughts on “Songs and Celebrations // A Bloggy Birthday

  1. Congratulations! Having just started a blog (sisterssquaredblog.wordpress.com) I can imagine how exciting it is to reach the year mark. I’ve been encouraged by so many of the things you’ve posted! 🙂 Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Sarah! You’ve been a huge encouragement to me with all your comments. And congratulations on starting your own blog! I can’t wait to see where it leads!

      Like

  2. Happy birthday, blog! How’s it feel to be a happy bloggy parent? 😉

    I’m writing a comment at co-op again…this is really awkwardly hilarious

    Hmmm…let’s go for a fun question. Creamy or crunchy peanut butter, and why?

    The most important thing that happened to me? Oh boy, I’m bad at superlatives. Well, here’s an important thing, since I can’t think of the MOST important. I learned that God’s plans have perfect timing, even if I don’t understand them. I mean, that’s something I already knew in my head, but this year I’ve experienced it in my life. That makes it more real to you, you know?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, if it’s awkward that you wrote your comment at co-op, I’m pretty sure it’s a lot more awkward that I’m replying at least a week and a half later. =P

      Actually neither! I’m sadly allergic to peanuts. But when I did eat it, I preferred the creamy; probably because we used to make our own, and it was just so delicious. =D

      Amen to God’s timing! I’ve been learning a lot about that this year as well.

      Like

  3. Wow, happy blogoversary!!! It seems like just yesterday that you started, and look where you are now!! (maybe you should teach me how to post consistently…i think i need help xP)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Birthday, SBS! Hope you had a great day! My blog, Sweeter than Honey, is turning two on the 15th, so it is just about a year older than you! You’re growing up to be such a good blog, and I hope you make your mommy proud (in a good way)! 🙂

    To Katherine: What are you planning to major in?
    Most important thing from the past year…oh, I don’t know. But it’s been a crazy year with lots of changes and busyness — Bible Bee, dual-enrolling for the first time, trying to figure out what I’ll do after graduation next year, babysitting adorable little people, and learning about having a servant’s heart (something I really need to grow in). I think the most important thing I’ve learned is that God is always good and loving in every situation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you! I’m looking forward to Sweeter than Honey’s anniversary, too!

      Lord willing, at this point I’m planning to major in Classical Liberal Arts. =D

      Yes, I can relate to the crazy year part. =P But that’s such an important thing to learn! I feel like we never stop learning it, but those times where God allows us to see it more clearly are so special.

      Like

  5. I missed this post. . . but happy belated blog-birthday anyway. I like that you mix posts on theology and art, because it’s true you can’t separate the two. I find myself doing that occasionally on my blog, which was supposed to be more about historical fiction, but I’m still going every which way. I’ve find out where I’m going eventually. (I also started it as a platform, since I’m also an aspiring authour, so there’s that sort of marketing side to the idea too.)

    The most important thing to happen in the last year. . . hmm. That will take a lot of thinking. I really don’t know. Lots of things have happened, some of them really big things, and it’s hard to rank them in order of importance — because they’re all so close still, you know, it’s hard to tell which of them will have the longest-lasting effect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes, I really think theology and art should go together (and I think you do it really well on your blog).

      That is true… I know there have been things in my life, which I thought were really big at the time, but now I see that it was the other things, which I didn’t even notice at the time, that really made the difference.

      Like

Leave a Reply

