Finding Direction | Blog Changes and Article Roundup

First of all, we’re officially one-third of the way through the year. That’s… slightly terrifying.

I started this blog over a year ago, and it’s been a growing process – both for me and the blog. Unless you’re reading this in an email or the WordPress reader, you probably noticed some pretty major changes in formatting. I really liked the old theme, but realized it didn’t quite fit the vision I have for this blog.

That last phrase has actually been the subject of some serious inner discussion. I want to move toward publication and all that, so I’d like for this blog to be clean and somewhat professional-looking, but I don’t want it to become impersonal at all. (Not to mention that dear Song Beyond Silence is rather an unusual child and doesn’t like to fit into normal blogging categories)

The tentative conclusion I’ve come to is: make it look nice and professional; maybe even go self-hosted (which would let me remove the icky little “[dot]wordpress” from the site address, among other things). But the poetry is staying, and so are some of the other things (like Sketches). The one thing I am removing is the monthly wrap-up; my email updates will serve quite well in place of it, I think.

It’s easy for me to get distracted; to get so caught up in numbers and metrics that I forget why I’m really doing this at all. But I want my focus to be on serving my readers – writing things that help you (and me) keep our eyes fixed on the gospel.

So as I keep figuring out what direction I should take this blog, I’d love for you to help me! I really want to know what kind of content would serve you the best. I figured out how to make a survey, so if you’d spend two minutes and take it, that would be amazing! You can find it here.

(Thank you so much, by the way, for taking time to read this blog! It’s an honor that I don’t take lightly.)

Article Roundup

Since I don’t have a proper article today, I decided to start something else: a list of excellent articles I found elsewhere on the internet. Hopefully this is something I can do monthly, because there are so many good writers out there!

The Messy Love of Easter | How often do we forget the horrifying, wonderful truth of the gospel? This post brings it to life in a beautiful way.

4 Ways to Embrace Your Family Legacy | Grandparents often have a treasure trove of stories and wisdom. This is a great reminder to embrace it.

4 Reasons Scripture Memory Matters, and How to Start Memorizing Scripture | Two excellent articles by my friend Dani on the “why” and “how” of Scripture memory.

Ana Harris Writes | Ana gives daily updates on her and Brett’s travels as she recovers from chronic illness. This blog is so incredibly challenging and inspiring (and a good way to know how to pray for them as well).

Only One Platform Will Last | Somehow I managed to run into three or four various articles on platforms these past couple weeks. This one by K.S. Prior is excellent!

I think that’s it for now. Thank you, as always, for choosing to travel this journey with me! May God bless you and grant you an ever-growing knowledge of Him!

2 thoughts on “Finding Direction | Blog Changes and Article Roundup

Leave a Reply

