My Busyness and God’s Bigness This Summer

Look, I’m back!

I know I’ve been away for a while, and I apologize about the absence… I took an unplanned hiatus due to busyness (see rest of post).

I’m hoping not to leave again for a while, though. I finished my online classes about a week ago, took my Bible Bee locals test on Saturday, and now I’ve got a couple of free weeks.

This post was actually written while I was still in the middle of classes and everything else, but it still holds true I think. For those of you who are also overwhelmed, busy, and in the middle of growing up, I hope it’s an encouragement.


evi-radauscher-325123

We all have this idea of summer, right?

It’s two or three months where you get to relax, forget about school, hang out with friends, make cannonballs in the swimming pool or get sunburned at the beach. I mean, I live in Florida. It’s like inhabiting the definition of summer.

But this summer has been busy for me. Not that it ever wasn’t, but this has been more so. Between classes, writing, working, and Bible Bee, the proverbial plate is full as Thanksgiving dinner.

I’d rather be busy than have nothing to do. If no task was set for me, I’d probably create one.

But sometimes, I wish it could be a little different. That I could just spend my summer writing, as much and as often as I like. That I could run off to the pool with my brothers and not think about all the stuff that I need to be getting done.

Sometimes, the craziness that comes with growing up can get a little overwhelming. (I imagine I’m not the only one who feels that way)

***

For Bible Bee this summer, we studied Genesis 1-3. I knew these chapters already, I’d even memorized them once, but I can’t believe how much I’ve been blessed by this extended meditation on God’s creative and sustaining power.

Since the start of June, I’ve gotten to look in wonder on the God whose words formed the sun looking in my window. Who laid the foundations of the earth I walk on. Who makes the Florida thunderclouds His chariot, the whipping winds His messengers.

I’ve gotten to see the bigness of my God in a way I never have before.

And that is such a comforting truth. Because even when I’m working from 11 to 5 and I still have an absurd amount of reading to do and a bunch of other things I need to work on, God is still there. He’s still the one directing my steps. He’s still sovereign.

In all of the busyness, it’s easy to just get focused on here and now. This assignment, these customers, this to-do list. But that’s not our purpose. For the Christian, this world is not our home; we are citizens of a heavenly country, and that’s where our eyes have to be fixed – on “the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.”

Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. (Colossians 3:2)

I’m not perfect at this by any means; but I’ve discovered that lifting my eyes to God’s sovereignty and glory has given me peace this crazy summer. We have to be in His word. I know it sounds cliche, but maybe some cliches are just truths whose reality we’ve forgotten. The Bible is our anchor in the storm of growing up.

So cling to it. Hold on to it like a lifeline. Lift your eyes and see how great is our God.

Our busyness, our responsibilities, and our to-do lists may seem enormous – but He is infinitely bigger.

12 thoughts on “My Busyness and God’s Bigness This Summer

  1. I’m with you–I’d rather be busy than bored, and I’d probably come up with tasks to fill my free time as well. And I’ve learned that can totally be a mixed blessing. It’s good for me to work hard, but it is so. easy. for me to get caught up in busyness.

    “I know it sounds cliche, but maybe some cliches are just truths whose reality we’ve forgotten.”

    Wow, yes.

    Here’s what I’ve been learning this summer, beginning with your spoken word at the GFHSG graduation at the end of April: to fix my eyes on the unseen and live for eternity. I’ve been learning to live walking closer with God and considering the impact what I do now has on eternity. I’ve been learning to keep eternity in focus and look forward to it with great anticipation. Thanks for inspiring the beginning of this journey. We should catch up soon, huh? 🙂 Before school starts up again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

